Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
 10 Severe lack of power (for 15 minutes after start) (Read 5506 times)
C00lSub4ru

Severe lack of power (for 15 minutes after start)
Dec 18th, 2018 at 12:40am
Print Post  
I've been chasing this problem for almost two years.  It must have begun after a month or two of sitting in the snow, it's garaged now.

It starts pretty well, idles a bit rougher than before.  It revs all the way up in neutral just fine. When I start driving I can barely get it above 3000 rpm in any gear.  If I press the pedal more than 20% it just stops working, literally slows down.  Even in my usable rev range it has very little power, but I can struggle to get up to 30 then 45 and it's a little better.  Eventually I can use like 40% throttle and have enough power to hit the highway. After 10 minutes of highway speeds it runs fantastic in every gear at every speed for the rest of the day, even if I shut it off for half an hour to shop. By the next morning it's back to the same.

Twice now I thought I found the solution only for it to come back after a couple of weeks.  When I replaced the cables from the speed/ref sensors to the computer it ran great for a week then returned to being undrivable.  When I replaced the fuel pressure regulator I was sure it was fixed, for a month, then again it returned to being undrivable.

It has always burned/leaked a lot of oil (not sure because I don't see any oil under it.)

I have replaced the following:
fuel pump, pressure regulator, fuel filter, fuel tank strainer looks brand new
speed/ref sensors, speed/ref cables, rebuilt DME
cracked hose from AOS to j-boot
plugs, plug cables, cap and rotor a few years ago

I tested the Throttle position sensor, and one of the temperature sensors at the DME plug, and tested the AFM out of the car, all seemed fine.

I really appreciate the responses I get here, thanks for all the help so far.

IP Logged

Cambo

Porsche, there is no substitute.